I Forgive You

“I forgive you.”

Next to “I love you”, I believe that these are the three most powerful words which can change lives, create hope where there was none, to be an immeasurable blessing that could be considered miraculous.  In the last few months, I have seen the grace that appears when forgiveness is granted, I have felt my own heart heal and grow stronger….and softer.

As children, we were taught to say “I’m sorry” when we did something wrong, and if it didn’t come to us right away, we were prompted, “now say you’re sorry….”  For a very long time, I believed that this was the toughest part about being a responsible adult, to be able to apologize without prompting,  and really mean it.  But now I’m not so sure….

Reiki practitioners recite these 5 Reiki precepts (or guidelines) daily:

     ” Just for today, I will not anger.

       Just for today, I will not worry.

       Just for today, I will be grateful.

       Just for today, I will do my work honestly.

       Just for today, I will be kind to every living thing.”

I would love to add one more precept…. “Just for today, I will offer forgiveness to every one and every thing.”

I am sure that everyone can think of many occasions where we have been slighted, or wronged, or insulted and there was no apology issued.  Depending on the circumstances, sometimes it can be relatively easy to brush off these “injustices”.   Don Miguel Ruiz wrote in his book “The Four Agreements” to not take things personally.  Let’s face it, there are many times when our feelings are hurt because we DO take it personally.

But what if we can’t forgive?  What if time goes by and instead of diminishing, our hurt ego/heart/feelings start to fester or develop some scar tissue?  And what if even more time goes by and we revisit that hurt, rip off that scar tissue and hurt some more?

Ever since our daughter’s accident a year and a half ago, I now truly believe in miracles.  I no longer accept the word “impossible”.   I know in my heart that EVERYTHING is possible, even if it’s beyond my wildest expectations.

So when a close family member appeared back in my life, “out of the blue”, I was able to chalk up another one on the Miracle Board.  So many emotions, but most importantly, so much gratitude for this second chance.  Any resentment and hurt feelings vanished into thin air, and we were able to create some wonderful new memories together, an opportunity I never imagined I would have.  More importantly, all was forgiven.

And yet, there were family members who could not forget their hurt feelings, or forgive, including the family member who came back.  Despite all my attempts to hold space for a reconciliation, they would not – or could not – find it in themselves to forgive.  And in the end, that caused me much sorrow and sadness.  I saw the lost opportunity to heal and to move on.  It pained me to see people I love deeply struggle with their ability to forgive.  I knew that this chance was a gift, and was so frustrated to see any hope of healing fade away….

forgiveness

Reiki has been a huge part of my life the last 5 years, and I am grateful for how much I have grown and changed since embracing the concept of unconditional love.

“There is no love without forgiveness, and there is no forgiveness without love.” – Bryant H. McGill

When we love unconditionally, without exception or exemptions, when we are filled with gratitude for each day, forgiveness comes much more easily.  Do I still struggle occasionally?  Of course I do.  I’m human.  But I now have tools to help me.  My Reiki practice has taught me that when I return to the Source and ask to be filled with Divine energy (ie. Love)  even the toughest challenges are conquerable. When our hearts are filled with love, there is no room for anything else.

In addition, I now use my essential oils to support these emotional struggles.  They have been incredibly effective, and I will be forever grateful to my friend, Mary, for introducing me to doTERRA.  The Forgive Blend, as well as Console and Peace, are always the oils I turn to when I need some extra help.

Some people say that life is short, that we shouldn’t waste it by being angry or hurt.  I say that life is a journey and a lesson.  We need to be grateful for every single day and when we have the chance to grow, we should embrace the opportunity, despite the temporary discomfort.  The reward is greater than we can ever imagine.

“Forgiveness is the giving, and so the receiving, of life.” – George MacDonald

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

