How am I Doing…Today?

Every morning, before I go to work at the farm, I spend some time in my healing room, preparing myself for the day.  Ideally, I would do this right after rising out of bed, but the reality is I enjoy my sleep, and enjoy making a healthy breakfast for my family.  Once they’re off, it’s quiet and I can take as much time as I want, without feeling rushed.

One of the first things I do is just “check in” with myself….how am I feeling today?  Each of the five Reiki precepts is prefaced with “Just for today”.  Every day is different – the euphoria we may have been enjoying yesterday may dissipate, the anxiety about something may have increased.  How am I feeling today, right now?

I take some deep, cleansing breaths, place my hands in Gassho position (Namaste gesture), and allow myself to feel grounded and connected to the Earth.  If my mind starts wandering to what I need to get done at the farm, or what items to add to my grocery shopping list, I have a few “tools”.  Visualizing roots growing from my feet, down into the ground, works great.  So does holding a crystal such as black tourmaline or obsidian.  And aromatherapy using a grounding blend, or pure Frankincense also does the trick beautifully.  (I don’t usually have to do anything but slow my breathing and focus, but these tools do help!)

precepts

I then recite the precepts, because they remind me of how I can best serve myself and others.

IMG_1316I have a beautiful singing bowl, which I purchased last winter.  It sits on my windowsill, and I often like to take it in my hands to play for a few minutes.  I discovered that when I have not done a good job of calming my mind and spirit, the bowl reflects this turmoil, and does not tone very loudly – if at all.  However, when I feel “connected”, peaceful and whole….the song fills the whole room!  Talk about bio-feedback!

Self-Reiki is also an important part of my daily practice.  At this point in my day, I will use Reiki to clear each of my chakras, to cleanse my healing room (and other rooms, if necessary).  I will do a short meditation and prayer.  When I am finished, I feel peaceful, grounded….and ready to take on anything I encounter in the day.

Tomorrow may well be a whole other story.  That’s okay.  I only need to focus on Today.

Namaste my friends!

 

Waking up this morning, I smile,
Twenty four brand new hours are before me.
I vow to live fully in each moment
and to look at all beings with eyes of compassion.  Thich Nhat Hanh

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

